Into the Wild Nerd Yonder-Julie Halpern

I’m feeling lazy tonight, so this will be in the form of pros and cons.

Pros:

  • It’s quite amusing
  • I like Jessie’s relationship with her family, especially Barrett
  • It’s about a girl embracing her inner nerd

Cons:

  • There were points when I felt that Jessie was being blind and/or hypocritical and I couldn’t tell whether we were meant to trust her or see her as a slightly unreliable narrator
  • For a book which shows the journey of a girl accepting her inner nerd, it’s awfully hard on said group

This is somewhere between a con and an eh for me, but there’s some fairly frank mentions and discussion of sex. I didn’t particularly mind it, but I was a little taken aback by it, or something.

 

Book source: public library

Book information: Feiwel and Friends, 2009; YA

Leave a comment

Filed under bookish posts, reviews

Leave a Reply

