Cooking adventures: summer edition

Cellophane Noodle Salad with Roast Pork: this tasted delicious, although I left out several of the ingredients in the salad (mango, cellophane noodles, green beans). However, it did not keep well at all. The vegetables got soggy and the flavors went weird.

Crunchy Lemon Syrup Cake, from the Crabtree & Evelyn Cookbook. Mmmmmm. And again I say, mmmmm. I think I might have very slightly overbaked this, which will be rectified in the future, but it didn’t seem to matter. Not with lovely lemon syrup poured over the whole thing.

Braided Lemon Bread: I’ve noticed this summer that while I like a nice piece of fruit, a real summer dessert involves lemon. I made this for the rehearsal brunch for a wedding and it was pretty quickly devoured. I liked it, but some of the lemon curd leaked out, leaving it not as lemony as I had hoped. I think next time a bit of zest will go into the bread itself. Still awesome, though.

Bread and Butter Pickles: Alas, these didn’t turn out as well as I had hoped, because I didn’t reduce the salt enough. I liked the taste besides the saltiness, so I’ll definitely return to it, but unfortunately I missed the rest of the cucumber harvest so it’ll have to be next year.

Tangy Shredded Cabbage Salad: I’ve made this twice now and it was even better the second time than it was the first. A great alternative to coleslaw, especially during fasting periods.

Chamomile Shortbread: I was trying to find ways to use the massive amount of chamomile that I had this year (so happy!). This was one of my favorites–a delicately flavored shortbread that’s not too sweet or too heavy. The chamomile became more pronounced as it cooled.

Leave a comment

Filed under cooking adventures

Leave a Reply

