A white sweater

Details
Pattern: Katharine Hepburn Cardigan by Kathy Zimmerman
Book: Lace Style
Made for: me
Yarn: Lion Brand Baby-soft Solid

I adapted this pattern slightly. Zimmerman gives a short version and a long version. One was too short, and the other too long, so I did about halfway between. I enjoyed the pattern; lace and cables are probably my favorite things to knit. I also like the classic shape of this sweater. However, there’s a fairly major problem with it: despite multiple efforts, the button-band is too short, leading to a weird dip in the middle of the sweater. This may partly be due to the yarn I used. I’m now vowing to never work with pure acrylic ever, ever again. It doesn’t feel nice to knit, and it doesn’t feel particularly nice on. (Is Homespun acrylic? I’m too lazy to go look it up. If it is, I make an exception for it.)

Still, I have a white cardigan now, which will do for the time being.

Basic summary: pattern gets a thumbs up, yarn gets a bleh.

Ravelry link (which I think you have to be a member to see at the moment)

6 Comments

Filed under crafts

6 responses to “A white sweater

  1. you and the sweater look lovely! love the shelves and icons 🙂

    • The Baronness of Grandiloquence

      Acrylic yarn is terrible. I HATE working with it so much. Of course, I am also slightly allergic to wool…

      I have a sick, sick addiction to KnitPicks (http://www.knitpicks.com/knitting.cfm). They have super cheap, really nice yarn. It’s about $3-4 a skein for machine washable wool. And they make really great needles, too.

      But the sweater itself is lovely. 🙂

      • Maureen E

        have a sick, sick addiction to KnitPicks

        Don’t TELL me these things! I will now be spending all of my money there.

        And yes, acrylic=the devil’s yarn.

    • Maureen E

      Thank you! As a picture of me, it’s a little weird but oh well. 🙂

  2. Mimi

    I don’t know if I’ve ever seen a photo of you, you are lovely! The sweater is as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

