48 hours: Deathless-Catherynne Valente

Started awhile ago; finished today.

Pros:
-it’s so great to see someone retelling Russian stories. I’m a big fan of fairy tale retellings in general, but I do get tired of seeing the same old stories over and over
-it has a kind of…I don’t quite know how to put this…gravity, maybe? to the story. Though the language tended to be simple, I felt like there were a lot of Things talked about

Cons:
-somehow I never got completely sucked into the book. Not sure if I was just reading it at the wrong time or what, but despite caring a lot for Marya, it never quite clicked. I realize that this is insanely subjective and there’s no reason not to try it for yourself.

So far:
5 hours, 15 minutes spent reading
902 pages read
3 books finished (two middle-grade, one adult)

Leave a comment

Filed under bookish posts

Leave a Reply

