The Swag

I went to the library booksale today and came back rich. Seriously, I don’t think I’ve ever had such a good haul! Here’s the list:

Anne of Avonlea by L.M. Montgomery–because I left the complete set in Oregon for my sister.
Miracles on Maple Hill by Virginia Sorensen
The Wall and the Wing by Laura Ruby
Fly by Night by Frances Hardinge
The Book of Three and The Black Cauldron by Lloyd Alexander
Understood Betsy by Dorothy Canfield Fisher
Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta
Tam Lin by Pamela Dean
The Hero and the Crown by Robin McKinley
The Safe-Keeper’s Secret by Sharon Shinn
Homer Price by Robert McCloskey
Foundling by D.M. Cornish
The Order of Odd-Fish by James Kennedy
The Blue Fairy Book by Andrew Lang
The Cup of the World by John Dickinson
The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsal
Starcross by Philip Reeve
Song for Summer by Eva Ibbotson
A City of Bells by Elizabeth Goudge

All for $21! Now I just have to refinish my new bookshelf; I’m beyond running out of room.

8 Comments

Filed under bookish posts, life

8 responses to “The Swag

  1. Mecque

    Nice work! I love library book sales (even though it means I have to work longer hours in the book room). I was so proud of my last-Thursday haul of The Secret Garden, National Velvet, The Saturdays by Elizabeth Enbright, and “The Rainbow Garden” which seems to be an Evangelical Christian retelling of The Secret Garden (?)- for $1.50.

    Congratulations (especially for “Foundling”) and good luck with your bookshelves!

    • Maureen E

      Ah, very nice! The Rainbow Garden–what, do they just take out all the Magic stuff? Hm.

      Yes, the bookshelves are a project and I have to wait until the weather cooperates with me…which of course it’s doing today, when I have other plans. Oh, life.

  2. OOO, I esp. like The Blue Fairy Book by Andrew Lang…. also the Elizabeth Goudge… I own that one in paperback… šŸ™‚

    • Maureen E

      I’ve had a really hard time finding City of Bells for a decent price, so I was glad to snag it for $2!

  3. Kathy_S

    Nice list! (based on my already owning 8 of them)

    Is the children/young adult section empty, or is it worth the trip for half price day tomorrow? (By Indigo the round trip takes several hours.)

    • Maureen E

      No, not empty, at least on Thursday evening. There were quite a few modern YA books left, but not as many classics. I did also see a copy of The Thief, but resisted buying based on the fact that I already own a better edition. šŸ™‚ I’m not sure what it’s like now though, as Friday was 1/2 price day and I suspect people were waiting for that.

  4. I never got through the entire “Anne” series by L. M. Montgomery. I wasn’t entirely a fan of the changeover in perspective from Anne to her children. I think it was the seventh book (Rilla of Ingleside) that I didn’t get through. Of course, after getting that far, I do regret it. However, Anne of Avonlea is one of my absolute favorites.

Leave a Reply

