On a sleepy night

It’s one of those evenings where round about 7 my eyelids started to droop and my brain decided to cease all non-essential functions. Not being in a state to deliver clear and insightful remarks about books, I’m doing something I’d put off for awhile instead.

Kiernan was kind enough to pass on a blog award last month. I never quite got around to doing anything about it, but here I am.

I’m supposed to tell you seven interesting things about myself. We’ll see how interesting they are!

1. The day I was born, the stock market crashed. No, really. I’ve always been very amused by this fact, which is clearly a Portent of Things to Come.

2. I never had a growth spurt. My parents kept telling me I would, and buying me larger bicycles and clothes under the assumption that I’d grow into them, but I never did. I’m 4’10”, which is about the height I was in middle school.

3. When I was in middle school, the librarian let me check out as many books as I wanted (everyone else had to get two at a time). I would frequently read 3-4 books a night. Tragically, I didn’t keep a record, so I know there are books that I’m missing. I do know that I read The Blue Sword at least ten times between 7th and 8th grade.

4. Growing up, my best friend and I had a strange routine whenever our families visited each other. When we said goodbye, we had to “hug till we fall down.” I think it was an accident the first time, but then we decided that it should be a tradition.

5. I’ve been abroad once, studying in England in college. I’ll be going back as soon as possible (though not in 2012, because of the Olympics. Evil Olympics).

6. At one point growing up we had a white lab named Snow who liked me a lot. To the extent of wrapping me up in his chain and knocking me into our peony bush because he was excited to see me.

7. I made up my first proper story when I was in Children’s Garden (kindergarten). It was about a girl whose father brings her home a talking dog.

I’m supposed to nominate fifteen bloggers, but I’m going to be a total cop-out and say that you should feel free to consider yourself nominated if you’d like to be.

5 Comments

Filed under blogkeeping, life

5 responses to “On a sleepy night

  1. I really enjoyed this list. Thanks. Shows your personality… I remember your England blog… what a special time this was for you. ๐Ÿ™‚ Sending you love from Ottawa!

    • Maureen E

      Thanks! I was trying to think of things while falling asleep. ๐Ÿ™‚ It was a special time–I’m hoping to go back someday, but I’m also trying to remember how blessed I am to have gone at all.

  2. Mimi

    I also remember your English blog! I have always said I wanted to turn 40 in London, and I’m a big fan of the Olympics. Having said that, it turns out that they will be occurring when I turn 40, which may prevent me from being there.

    • Maureen E

      Yeah, I was really disappointed. Although at this point I’m not sure that my finances would allow a 2012 trip anyway.

  3. Mimi

    Mine either, but a dream is a dream….
    We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

