Cooking Adventures, part VI

+ I made enchiladas during Cheese Week–just different kinds of cheese mixed with some garlic and Italian spices. They were nice, though.

+ And then I made tofu enchiladas from a book called, I believe, Tofu Cookery. They were probably the best-flavored tofu enchiladas I’ve ever had. Soy sauce, peanut butter, and tomato paste.

+ I made this mujadara, which is kind of an incredible thing. I mean, who knew that caramelizing onions could add that much flavor? Somehow I’m starving a few hours later, though. No one else is complaining so I may have simply not eaten enough.

+ Made this tahini salad dressing too, which is definitely a keeper. Really nice flavors.

+ And for my major accomplishment of the day, I adapted these gluten free muffins to be vegan and have a different combination of spices. Here’s my version:
Apple, Gruyere and Sage Muffins

makes 6 muffins plus a loaf
1 cup brown rice flour
1/4 cup almond flour
1/4 cup almond meal
2 Tbs (30 grams) potato starch
2 Tbs (20 grams) tapioca starch
1/4 cup white sugar
1 tsp (8 grams) baking powder
1/2 tsp (3 grams) baking soda
1/2 tsp (5 grams) salt
1/4 tsp xanthan gum
1/2 t cinnamon
1/4 t allspice or nutmeg
1/3 c applesauce
1/4 c soy or rice milk
1/4 cup (55 ml) olive oil
2 apples, peeled and small diced

In a large bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients (through allspice). In a small bowl, whisk together the applesauce, soy/rice milk, and olive oil. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and mix until combined. Fold in the diced apples.

Scoop batter into molds. Bake at 400F for 20 minutes for the muffins and 40 minutes for the loaf. I didn’t bother with the loaf, just made 12 muffins. I’m pretty sure that this will be a basis for various muffin experiments for awhile, since these came out delicious. They were a tad crumbly, which I don’t mind for eating but which is a pain getting out of the tins. I’ve upped the applesauce slightly here, to try to counterbalance that.

+ Made Crispy Yogurt Chicken, which is really nice–very moist and flavorful, assuming you add enough garlic. Our breadcrumbs were of the Italian-seasoning, which helped too.

+ We had lemon curd, so I made these cream scones–next time I’d put in a little less salt. Also, next time I’ll probably make wedges, even though I prefer round scones. Mine looked a little…rustic (which is good when that’s what you want, not so much when it’s not).

2 Comments

Filed under cooking adventures

2 responses to “Cooking Adventures, part VI

  1. nice! sounds yummy! 🙂

  2. Although I am admittedly not much of a fan of the ingredients here, I can say that the preparation sounds great. Perhaps worth a try…

Leave a Reply

