January book list

A Civil Campaign by Lois McMaster Bujold: A re-read. I was looking for something else and it was just sitting there on the shelf, tempting me with its shininess. So I took it out. I think this is destined to be one of those books I just read over and over again.

Illyria by Elizabeth Hand: A gorgeously written book that I never formed an emotional connection to. Reviewed {HERE}.

Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta: Speaking of books I read over and over again. My first re-read since last June, when I banned myself from reading it for the rest of the year. It’s just as good as ever and involved lots of tissues.

Fragile Eternity by Melissa Marr: I had sort of lost interest in the series after Ink Exchange, but I’d heard good things about Radiant Shadows, so I figured I would read the next one. I did like it more than I expected.

Sapphique by Catherine Fisher: Less enigmatic than Incarceron, but still enjoyable. Reviewed {HERE}.

The Crowfield Curse by Pat Walsh: I was kind of expecting this to be another magic vs. Christianity book, which I’m really done with. But it wasn’t! In the end I really liked it, especially the way Walsh depicted the medieval life.

All Clear by Connie Willis: I loved this book, which was totally tragic, but also hopeful. Reviewed {HERE}.

Alchemy and Meggy Swann by Karen Cushman: A lovely historical fiction. Reviewed {HERE}.

A Spy in the House by Y.S. Lee: This book was a joy–fluffy in some ways but also clearly written by someone who knows what she’s talking about. Reviewed {HERE}.

Kiss Me, Kill Me by Lauren Henderson: This is an example of a book in a category I’m not wild about–school stories–which I nonetheless enjoyed. Usually I find boarding school stories super annoying, but somehow this one managed to avoid that. However, I don’t feel any particular compulsion to finish the series.

Factotum by D.M. Cornish: The third book in the Foundling’s Tale/MBT trilogy. Cornish is amazing, as always. Reviewed {HERE}.

Ice by Sarah Beth Durst: I’ve been looking for THE re-telling of “East of the Sun, West of the Moon” for awhile now. I’m afraid I’ll have to keep looking. I liked a lot of what Durst did with this story, and Cassie was a really interesting rendition of the heroine. But her journey at the end just lost me completely.

The Folk Keeper by Franny Billingsley: Deceptively covered, this is a shadowy and haunting story in beautiful prose. Reviewed {HERE}.

Invisible Things by Jenny Davidson: I really enjoyed The Explosionist–alternate history! mysteries! Scotland!–and so I was expecting to have the same reaction to Invisible Things. Unfortunately, I wasn’t nearly as entranced. I’m not sure exactly why this is, and plenty of other reviewers have liked it just as much as the first book, so take my reaction with a heaping pinch of salt. But the sudden weaving in of a certain fairy tale was sort of jolting, and I found Sophie less sympathetic.

A Coalition of Lions; The Sunbird; The Lion Hunter; The Empty Kingdom by Elizabeth Wein: After doing a re-read of Elizabeth Wein’s series, I loved them more than ever! Many more thoughts {HERE}.

The Curse of Chalion by Lois McMaster Bujold: Lovely historical fantasy. Reviewed {HERE}.

Bleeding Violet by Dia Rees: There were some things I really liked about this book, and Hanna was certainly a fascinating narrator. But there were also things that bothered me–the romance really didn’t work for me, for instance. And I’m afraid that in the end the things that bothered me outweighed the things that didn’t. As with Invisible Things, this book has gotten lots of good reviews from others, so do keep that in mind if you were planning to read it.

Cryoburn by Lois McMaster Bujold: Yay Miles! The emotional heart of the book for me came at the very end. Reviewed {HERE}.

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins: Very fluffy, but so cute! Another example of a boarding school story where I wasn’t constantly annoyed by shallow silly people. It’s a different kind of boarding school here, so that helped. Anyway, very cute.

The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff: Sinister and heartwarming in one lovely package. Reviewed {HERE}.

The Iron Duke by Meljean Brook: The premise of this book was fascinating and I liked the main character. However, I couldn’t handle the sexual content. I know this is a personal thing, so if alternate history steampunk London with ships appeals to you at all, and you won’t be bothered by pretty frank romance stuff, then go for it. I’m not sure that I regret reading it, but I don’t think I’ll be reading any more. (I was somewhat bothered by the male main character and a tad troubled by the implications of the Horde.)

A Countess Below Stairs by Eva Ibbotson: I had a job interview at a bookstore and then I had to wait around for awhile, so I bought this to wile away the time. It’s definitely my favorite Ibbotson, although it requires significant suspension of disbelief.

Paladin of Souls by Lois McMaster Bujold: I intend to review this later on today, so I won’t say much about it except that it’s the sequel to The Curse of Chalion, and I enjoyed it.

Arabella by Georgette Heyer: I had a headache, so Georgette Heyer seemed like just the thing to soothe me. I do enjoy this one.

8 Comments

Filed under bookish posts, monthly book list, reviews

8 responses to “January book list

  1. I love Jellicoe Road too! Can’t wait to read The Piper’s Son.

    I’ve been looking for THE re-telling of “East of the Sun, West of the Moon” for awhile now. I’m afraid I’ll have to keep looking. -> I felt the same way about Ice and East and I’m still on the lookout for a retelling of this story that I’ll love.

    A Countess Below Stairs is the first Eva Ibbotson that I’ve read and it has been a favorite ever since I discovered it.

    • Maureen E

      YES! Yay Melina Marchetta!

      I liked East a lot, but it never turned into THE re-telling, sadly. It’s such a fascinating story–surely someone will write an amazing one sometime.

      It’s so silly, but it’s so much fun–I can’t help but love it. And it’s nice to see some positive depictions of Russians.

  2. Unfortunately, I don’t know any of the books you mention here, but I am always looking for good reads. Sounds like a great list.

  3. Pingback: Georgette Heyer | By Singing Light

  4. Pingback: Historical Fantasies: Medieval and Renaissance Europe | By Singing Light

  5. Pingback: Lois McMaster Bujold | By Singing Light

  6. Pingback: October book list | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

