Sapphique: a review

by Catherine Fisher

Opening line: “The alleyway was so narrow that Attia could lean against one wall and kick the other.”

The sequel to Incarceron, Sapphique left me with just about as many questions as the first book. And yet, I didn’t feel frustrated or as if Fisher was just willfully denying her readers knowledge. It was more a sense of questions that could never be answered by anyone, author, readers or characters.

As you may have noticed if you’ve been around for awhile, worldbuilding is one of my Things. Here I was less impressed by the way the details worked and more impressed by the imagination, which is incredibly vivid. I was never convinced that Incarceron and the Realm were real, and yet I was engrossed in the story and the world nonetheless.

In Incarceron, I was struck by the way the characters seemed to be in flux, constantly changing and changing our perceptions of them at the same time. That was less apparent in Sapphique, although there were certainly a few characters who remained enigmatic. Other characters settled down into a set pattern, usually one that was quite standard. I was actually surprised at how little the expected answer was undermined when it came to characters.

I did enjoy the book and the main characters, although my favorite remains Jared who is probably one of the most enigmatic. (I like ambiguities.) And yet, I was never astounded, never completely lost in the words. I never caught my breath because something was so beautiful, or tragic, or right. Of course, not every book does this–I read a fair amount of fluff and enjoy it for what it is. Sapphique, however, seemed like it hovered just on the edge of becoming amazing.

Book source: public library
Book information:

My review of Incarceron

A few more reviews of Sapphique:
Chachic
Monsters and Critics

1 Comment

Filed under bookish posts, reviews

One response to “Sapphique: a review

  1. Thanks for linking to my review! I can’t remember the details of the book anymore but I remember being disappointed about it, especially since I got the recommendation from Sounis. Well, we can’t really expect to like the same books all of the time.

Leave a Reply

