December book list

A Civil Campaign by Lois McMaster Bujold: I loved this book, pure and simple. Reviewed {here}.

Caddy Ever After by Hilary McKay: Rose actually isn’t my favorite Casson, so I found this book a bit more annoying than anything else.

City of Glass by Cassandra Clare: A satisfying conclusion, for now. Reviewed {here}.

Clay by David Almond: A chilling story. The narrator is sympathetic enough to pull the whole thing off, but it definitely gave me shivers.

Wild Magic by Cat Weatherill: A re-telling of “The Pied Piper of Hamelin.” It went a much different direction than the one I was expecting, but it was well done and a sweet story in its own right.

Miles, Mutants, and Microbes by Lois McMaster Bujold: Short stories, which I enjoyed. Reviewed {here}.

The Explosionist by Jenny Davidson: I’d heard good things about this book, and they were entirely justified. An alternative history where the ancient Hanseatic League has been revived, this book tells the story of Sophie, a girl in 1930’s Scotland. She is a good main character and the plot is certainly thrilling. I have the sequel now and am definitely looking forward to it!

The Last Summer of the Death Warriors by Francisco X. Stork: I hate to say this, but I wasn’t nearly as charmed by this book as I was by Marcelo in the Real World. I did still enjoy it, however, so if you like Stork’s writing I’d recommend it.

Predator’s Gold by Philip Reeve: The second book in the Mortal Instruments series. Hester and Tom take on any number of challenges, from splinters of the Anti-Traction League, to shady professors. I’d tried to read it once before and not succeeded, but this time I thoroughly enjoyed myself.

Court Duel by Sherwood Smith: A re-read, because I like Meliara and the story and the romance.

Borders of Infinity by Lois McMaster Bujold: Short stories, which seemed a bit depressing. Reviewed {here}.

Redwall by Brian Jacques: I’d actually never read any of the Redwall books, having been enormously intimidated by the sheer volume. I did like it a lot–there was a lovely sense of the place and the seasons which I always think is nice. I don’t know if I’m convinced to read the rest of the books, though.

Toads and Diamonds by Heather Tomlinson: A re-telling of the fairy tale by the same name. I enjoyed the twists on the original story. It seems to me interesting that in this version the main relationship is the one between the two sisters. I also enjoyed the setting.

The Star of Kazan by Eva Ibbotson: A sweet story, with fun characters. Reviewed {here}.

Enchanted Ivy by Sarah Beth Durst: I enjoyed the book, but it was also fairly forgettable–as in, I can’t remember the main character’s name at the moment. There were some interesting twists and turns, but nothing that really grabbed by attention.

The Celestial Globe by Marie Rutkoski: Another solid sequel, with an expanding cast and lots of interest. Reviewed {here}.

The Enchantment Emporium by Tanya Huff: Very definitely adult. It’s a fun story, but I was never more than mildly interested in the characters.

The Ask and The Answer by Patrick Ness: Reviewed {here}. An excellent, if gritty, sequel.

The Small Rain by Madeleine L’Engle: L’Engle’s first book. It’s very different from the Austin and Murry series, which are what I’m most familiar with. Still, L’Engle’s writing is lovely even this early.

Black Duck by Janet Taylor Lisle: Historical fiction about rumrunners. Reviewed {here}.

Towards Zero by Agatha Christie: A book centered around the idea that the events before a crime occurs are more important than what happens afterwards. It’s a bit more complex than some of her stories and I enjoyed it.

Trickster’s Choice by Tamora Pierce: I’d heard good things about this book and its sequel, so despite not having read any Tamora Pierce for years, I decided to give it a try. I liked seeing a different view of the familiar old characters and Aly herself is marvellous. I never was a huge Alanna fan, so it was nice to hear Aly herself articulate some of the things I found frustrating myself. It reminded me in parts of The Thief, which is never a bad thing.

A Severed Wasp by Madeleine L’Engle: The sequel to A Small Rain. It was fascinating to see the years that had gone by in terms of L’Engle’s writing and approach to life and religion and all sorts of things. I don’t think either book will ever rank in my favorites, but I did like it, especially for the wrapping-up of a couple of stories from the Austin books.

Solace of the Road by Siobhan Dowd: A bittersweet story. Holly is a lovely narrator, and I liked the way Dowd ended the story.

Blackout by Connie Willis: I start choking up at any mention of Dunkirk and can’t listen to or read the “We shall fight on the beaches” speech without actively crying, so this book was fun to read. No, it really was, actually, despite the tears and feeling of Impending Doom which hovered over the story. I can’t wait to read the second book (which is waiting for me at the library right now) to see how things wind up.

Healer’s Keep by Victoria Hanley: I really finished this book simply so that I could say that I had read it and be able to cross off my TBR list. It wasn’t actively bad, it just wasn’t good either.

13 Clues for Miss Marple by Agatha Christie: Miss Marple short stories. And that’s about all there is to say about that one.

Forever Rose by Hilary McKay: Despite the fact that I’m not a huge Rose fan, I did like this one. Things wrapped up satisfactorily, in my opinion.

Fr. George Calciu: Interviews, Homilies, and Talks: I’d heard about Fr. George but not actually read anything by him before. This was quite an incredible collection.

Trickster’s Queen by Tamora Pierce: Sequel to Trickster’s Choice. I could tell part of where the story was going by the end of the first book, but I was still entranced by this one. I really like Aly and hope that eventually we hear some more about her.

The Wind Singer by William Nicholson: A lovely fantasy book. It’s quite standard in some ways, but the characters are fun and I found myself unexpectedly touched by certain parts of it.

5 Comments

Filed under bookish posts, monthly book list, reviews

5 responses to “December book list

  1. Oh, what a shame you didn’t try Redwall when you were younger – I first plowed through most of them when I was about 10-11, which I think is the ideal age range. I probably wouldn’t reread most of them now, especially as they’ve gotten increasingly formulaic, but the detail was always captivating, and many of the adventures and riddles were really excellent. Also, I am a massive sucker for anything with loving descriptions of food, heh heh.

    If you do want to venture into one or two more, I would most strongly recommend Mossflower, which I think has the most emotional weight to it. Pearls of Lutra was another favorite.

  2. Pingback: November 2012-January 2013 reading list | By Singing Light

  3. Pingback: Madeleine L’Engle | By Singing Light

  4. Pingback: Hilary McKay | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

