November book list

This list is completely ridiculous and I know it. I’m not even quite sure how it happened, but remember, no jobs, no kids, and I read fast.

The Mysterious Howling by Maryrose Wood: A mysterious and Gothic tale about a young governess who takes a job caring for three children previously raised by wolves. I suspect that it would appeal in many ways to Lemony Snicket fans.

The Brothers Story by Katherine Sturtevant: Set in 1680’s England, this is the story of twin brothers, Kit and Christy. Kit must care for Christy although he resents it. An interesting historical fiction.

Something, Maybe by Elizabeth Scott: Fluffy contemporary YA. It was okay–it definitely had some nice messages–but I wasn’t wowed by it at all.

Warrior’s Apprentice
The Mountains of Mourning
The Vor Game
by Lois McMaster Bujold: The first batch of Miles-centric Vorkosigan books. Reviewed {HERE}.

Girl at Sea by Maureen Johnson: More fluffy contemporary YA. I didn’t like this one nearly as much as I like the Scarlett Martin series (speaking of which, third book?).

Prince of Darkness by Sharon Kay Penman: The fourth Justin de Quincy book. Yes, I did skip the third, but it was an accident! I liked this one moderately better than the second, but I still prefer her more historical books, I think.

Heart of a Shepherd by Roseanne Perry: A really sweet, well-done book about family and war and faith. Plus it takes place in Oregon, so yay!

Pegasus by Robin McKinley: I loved the richness of the book, and the characters, and the story. Reviewed {HERE}.

The Boneshaker by Kate Milford: An eerie book with shifting characters and a fairy-tale like quality. Reviewed {HERE}

Eyes Like Stars by Lisa Mantchev: The premise of this one–a theater where all the plays ever written are performed–is really neat, and yet somehow I wasn’t wowed by it.

Behemoth by Scott Westerfeld: Another rollicking adventure. I’m still not sure that I really truly believe in Deryn as a girl, but that may be because we’ve only seen her when she’s acting the part of a boy.

City of Bones
by Cassandra Clare: A book which does a nice job of undercutting expected tropes. Also, it contains a short heroine! Reviewed {HERE}

Cetaganda
Ethan of Athos
by Lois McMaster Bujold: These two seemed to deviate from the heart of the series, especially with Ethan, which is actually a stand-alone. Reviewed {HERE}

Shadow by Jenny Moss: This book was frustrating because I felt like it had enormous potential. But juvenile behavior on the part of the protagonists and writing that seemed a little young brought this one down for me.

Incarceron by Catherine Fisher: A dark and well-woven story about a prison and the outside. Reviewed {HERE}.

StarCrossed by Elizabeth Bunce: A fantastic book, with a great main character and the promise of more adventure to come. Reviewed {HERE}.

The Ghosts of Ashbery High by Jaclyn Moriarty: At first I thought this was going be supernatural and was somewhat disappointed. But I should have trusted Moriarty to give us a funny book which has a lot more to think about it than it initially seems to. Sequel to The Year of Secret Assignments and so on.

Wishing for Tomorrow by Hilary McKay: I admit that I read this with a lot of trepidation. A sequel to Little Princess? How could it work? But it does work quite well and I found it all satisfying.

Saffy’s Angel by Hilary McKay: First in the Casson family series. Quieter and more bittersweet than the Exiles, but I still liked it.

Cotillion by Georgette Heyer: As I’ve said before, I love this book. Freddy and Kitty are waaay up there on my favorite Heyer couples list.

Indigo’s Star
by Hilary McKay: Second Casson book. I did like it, especially Michael and Caddy, and Tom.

Permanent Rose by Hilary McKay: Third Casson book. I didn’t like it quite as well as the first two.

False Colours by Georgette Heyer: Another favorite Heyer. It makes me feel all warm and gooey.

A Company of Swans by Eva Ibbotson: None of the other Ibbotsons I’ve read quite stacks up to A Countess Below Stairs for me, but I did enjoy this one quite a bit. It’s hard not to love Harriet.

The Body Finder by Kimberly Derting: This one never quite worked for me.

Brothers in Arms by Lois McMaster Bujold: Mark and Miles meet. Reviewed {HERE}.

POD by Stephen Wallenfals: I had somewhat mixed reactions to this one. At first I thought Megs was supposed to be quite a bit older than she was reading and then when I discovered that she’s about twelve her character made a lot more sense. Interesting, but I didn’t love it.

Mirror Dance by Lois McMaster Bujold: More Mark and Miles. Reviewed {HERE}.

Memory by Lois McMaster Bujold: One of my favorite Vorkosigan books so far. Reviewed {HERE}.

The Cabinet of Wonders by Marie Rutkoski: I ended up really enjoying this book, especially the interaction between the setting and the story. Reviewed {HERE}.

Komarr by Lois McMaster Bujold: Miles and Ekaterin meet, amidst a mystery and scheming. Reviewed {HERE}.

Academy 7 by Anne Osterlund: I really wanted to like this one, but never quite managed it. I think it’s mostly because the two main characters both felt a little too perfect.

Whom the Gods Love by Kate Ross: I liked this one a bit better than Broken Vessel, although it’s also sad and gritty. It was really nice to get a bit more background about Julian, which helped to make him a lot more real than before.

Gryphon in Glory by Andre Norton: I was startled by how old-fashioned this one seemed. I think it was partly the language which was rather deliberately trying for archaic. It made everything seem a little distant. However, the alternating narrative didn’t bother me!

Pigeon Post by Arthur Ransome: This has always been one of my favorite Swallows and Amazons books and I loved re-reading it.

Exiles in Love by Hilary McKay: I didn’t love this one as much as I loved the first two books, sadly. It was still fun, though. It just didn’t induce painful laughter.

White Sands, Red Menace by Ellen Klages: Sequel to Green Glass Sea, which I loved. This one didn’t quite have the suspense of the first one, in the sense of us knowing what was going to happen while the characters didn’t. But it was a nice growing-up story.

The Dream-Maker’s Magic by Sharon Shinn: A book which I wasn’t sure I’d like and ended up enjoying. Reviewed {HERE}.

Rampant by Diana Peterfreund: I was simultaneously really sucked into this one, and somewhat bothered by parts of it. Still, if you want killer unicorns and Rome, this is the place to go.

Skating Shoes by Noel Streatfeild: It didn’t have the charm of Ballet Shoes or Theatre Shoes, but it was still a sweet story.

City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare: Mm, I think this was even better than the first! I can’t wait to get my hands on the third book to see how it’s all going to wrap up.

EDIT: I’m adding two more that I didn’t get a chance to put in before the post published.

Perchance to Dream by Lisa Mantchev: I figured I might as well read the second book, since I read the first one and it was sitting right there. My reaction was pretty much the same as for the first book.

Sylvester by Georgette Heyer: Among my Heyer favorites, this is the one that I’ll love no matter what my mood is, or how tired I am.

5 Comments

Filed under bookish posts, monthly book list, reviews

5 responses to “November book list

  1. ditto on so many of these! Eyes Like Stars, for instance, should have pleased me much more than it did…I’m not quite sure what went wrong…And I like that Sharon Shinn series quite a bit, in a gentle way. Skating Shoes is my third favorite Streatfeild- I love the parts about growing things for the shop in particular. Pigeon Post isn’t a favorite Ransom of mine, because it’s a tense book….my own favorite is Winter Holiday. Someday I’ll try Cassandra Clare, and Lois McMaster Bujold….and I can’t wait to read StarCrossed!

    • Maureen E

      Yes, I’m not quite sure what went wrong either, except that it’s maybe just a bit too self-conscious?

      I’d like to read the other books in that series now. I’d been a bit dubious about Shinn since I read Gateway, but I think this series is stronger.

      I haven’t read Winter Holiday in a long time! I’ve got We Didn’t Mean To Go To Sea now, which will be fun.

      Cassandra Clare reminded me a lot of Sarah Rees Brennan, minus the immense tragic bits (or rather, those are diminished). Lois McMaster Bujold–well, Gen and Miles would either recognize each other as long-lost brothers and wreak havoc together, or they would hate each other instantly because they’re too much alike.

  2. C

    What’s your running total of books you’ve read since you started blogging? 😀

    • Maureen E

      Including re-reads, 1281. I don’t know the number not including re-reads, because I write everything down in a notebook and I’m too lazy to go through and count.

  3. Pingback: Hilary McKay | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

