March reading list

A Sudden Wild Magic by Diana Wynne Jones: Certainly not my favorite of Jones’s books. It combines elements of Deep Secret and Hexwood but somehow missing the compelling quality of either.

The Princess and the Hound by Mette Ivie Harrison: Without being a fairy tale re-telling, Harrison manages to give that impression. (I believe she has a degree in German literature, so it makes sense.) This story of a prince, a princess and her hound is compelling and well written.

An Infamous Army by Georgette Heyer: Probably the most tragic of all Heyer’s books; there were points when I couldn’t see because of the tears. But that’s only possible because Heyer manages to bring Waterloo and the events which led to it vividly to life.

Front and Center by Catherine Murdock: A mostly satisfying end to the trilogy. I was very pleased with the result of the relationship theme. I just wish there were more D.J. Schwenk to come. On the other hand, I’m never wild about series that just keep going and going and going, so I suppose I’m also glad that Murdock knows when to call it quits.

The Night Gift by Patricia McKillip: Really not my favorite McKillip. It’s set in the 1970’s and has a very odd Message heavy feel to it which I didn’t enjoy.

Suite Scarlett by Maureen Johnson: One of those books that’s very fun and packs a more powerful punch than I realized at first. I agree with someone else (Leila?) that Scarlett’s family feels like one of those classic Melendy types that’s a little (a lot) quirky, but AWESOME at the same time.

The Red Necklace by Sally Gardner: I enjoyed this book, but I summed up my major problem with it while complaining to my roommate. I felt like Gardner got an idea for a story and thought, “Oh, when I can I set this story? I know! The French Revolution!” and so she did. It didn’t feel cohesive enough, or something. Also, totally saw the major plot twist at the end a mile away.

Here Be Dragons by Sharon Kay Penman: I’m a sucker for good historical fiction, and this is most definitely good historical fiction. More fully reviewed {HERE}.

The Princess and the Bear by Mette Ivie Harrison: This sequel to The Princess and the Hound picks up where the first book left off. The title is somewhat misleading; personally I would have gone with an alternative which is slightly spoilery for the first book so I won’t say. Anyway. In general I found this one satisfying, but I didn’t feel like it quite stood on its own. As done as I am with trilogies at the moment, I’d really like a third book to round out the story.

Mourning Raga by Ellis Peters: Literary theory, among other things, has made me very twitchy about depictions of India in western books. I was worried about this one, despite my deep affection and respect for Peters. I do feel that Peters honestly respected the Indian culture and if she made generalizations they were regional rather than cultural. Still, her books set in Shropshire remain my favorites.

Circus Shoes by Noel Streatfeild: It wasn’t her best, but it was a little less predictable than, say, Family Shoes. There was one passage about Pascha that I loved, even if Streatfeild got a few facts wrong.

Water Witch by Connie Willis and Cynthia Felice: The worldbuilding was fascinating for this one, but I got hung up on how cliched it felt, despite some interesting twists and characterizations.

Facing East by Frederica Mathewes-Green: I loved this look at the Orthodox year. It was just what I needed to read at the end of Lent.

Fly by Night by Frances Hardinge: I completely loved this until the very end, when all of a sudden I felt like Hardinge had an Agenda. I can deal with it for the sake of her marvellous characters, but it did make me a little sad.

Eon: Dragoneye Reborn by Alison Goodman: I loved this one! So glad I took everyone’s recommendation and looked past the title. The worldbuilding and characters are spectacular; I felt like this is what Alanna could have been but wasn’t (sorry Alanna). Can’t wait to read the next one!

The Knocker at Death’s Door by Ellis Peters: We’re back in Shropshire for this one–yay! As usual, Peters’ descriptions and characters are marvellous. I did find one part a tiny bit unbelievable but am willing to go with it anyway.

Cousin Kate by Georgette Heyer: I believe this was the first Heyer book I ever read, and it completely freaked me out. I can see why–Torquil is a bit eerie. But on a re-read I found myself enjoying it a lot. Like False Colours, it has two characters who seem very real, despite their Gothic surroundings.

Knife by R.J. Anderson: A re-read. I enjoyed it once again. The characterizations are excellent and I love the different take on faery culture and history.

Nightbirds on Nantucket by Joan Aiken: The first Aiken I ever read. Interestingly, it’s one of the few novels in the series which I feel can really stand on its own–the complicated backstory of Dido and Simon and all the rest doesn’t come into it except very marginally.

A Conspiracy of Kings by Megan Whalen Turner (twice): I think I’ve said everything I have to say on this book {HERE} and {HERE} and {HERE}. Note that the last two are spoilery. Also, Jess, if you happen to be reading this, I added a comment and a link to the more detailed post.

The Seven Towers by Patricia Wrede: Meh. I felt generally underwhelmed by this one, which is unfortunate. I suppose if I were younger I would probably have liked it. As it was, I liked it but felt like there were whole huge problems and reactions that just got skipped over (my major example is very spoilery, so I won’t say what it is).

11 Comments

Filed under bookish posts, monthly book list, reviews

11 responses to “March reading list

  1. Mimi

    You amaze me.
    I’m always sad when I’m underwhelmed by a promising book

  2. Pingback: Diana Wynne Jones | By Singing Light

  3. Pingback: Ellis Peters | By Singing Light

  4. Pingback: Patricia McKillip | By Singing Light

  5. Pingback: Georgette Heyer | By Singing Light

  6. Pingback: Patricia C. Wrede | By Singing Light

  7. Pingback: Historical Fantasies: Elizabethan/Baroque/Georgian | By Singing Light

  8. Pingback: Favorite Authors: Frances Hardinge | By Singing Light

  9. Pingback: Historical Fantasies: Regency | By Singing Light

  10. Pingback: Favorite Authors: R.J. Anderson | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

