January reading list

The Winter Prince by Elizabeth Wein: I read this in December. Then I read it again, because it’s that good.

The Capricorn Bracelet by Rosemary Sutcliff: Sutcliff fans probably remember the ring with the flawed emerald and dolphin from Lantern Bearers, Silver Branch, etc. Here she traces a similar history, except that the family heirloom is a bracelet with a capricorn device and the family is located around Hadrian’s wall. I would have liked a little more story on several of these, but they were nicely done.

The Reluctant Widow
by Georgette Heyer: Reviewed {HERE}

Carney’s House Party by Maud Hart Lovelace: A re-read. I’m a major Lovelace fan; the only book I haven’t read from the Deep Valley series is Winona’s Pony Cart. I liked seeing a different perspective on love and marriage, and Betsy and Joe’s relationship.

Flora Segunda by Ysabeau Wilce: These are absolutely mad books, with magickal Butlers, a population that wears kilts, and a determined heroine. Also, great slang. Pigface psychopomp has now entered my vocabulary irrevocably. Basically, they’re a lot of fun, but fun with a good heart to them.

Dragon-Spear by Jessica Day George: I enjoyed the first two books, but I was fairly disappointed by this one. I didn’t want George to add unnecessary drama, but there were times when it seemed like her characters didn’t react to things that real people would have been having fits over.

A Coalition of Lions
by Elizabeth Wein: Goewin, Princess of Britain, travels to the African empire of Aksum to recall Constantine, their ambassador, to Britain. Completely different than The Winter Prince, it’s nonetheless fantastic in a different way. (A bit more {HERE})

Before Midnight by Cameron Dokey: A re-telling of Cinderella. I found it interesting and overall well done, but wasn’t massively impressed by it. I did think the characterization of the stepmother and stepsisters was well done.

The Changeling Sea by Patricia McKillip: The first McKillip book I ever read. I can see why I liked it and kept reading–there’s a lovely iridescence to this one and I really enjoy the way McKillip plays with different fairy tale motifs. Plus, I like the sea.

Snow White and Rose Red by Patricia Wrede: After Tender Morsels, I thought I’d try a different re-telling. And hey! I like Patricia Wrede. It was okay. As with Before Midnight, I enjoyed the book but wasn’t blown away. Although the darkness of Tender Morsels makes me hesitant to re-read it, it’s far more memorable.

April Lady
by Georgette Heyer: This is the one where the wife has the debts and accidentally misses one when she gives them to her husband to settle, and then of course is afraid he’ll be angry. It’s an interesting plot, but the characters weren’t as endearing as in some of Heyer’s books.

Firebirds ed. by Sharyn November: I wanted the second book in this anthology series, but the library accidentally sent me the first. That’s okay, I enjoyed re-reading it. Elizabeth Wein’s story was especially nice this time around, since I’ve now started her major series.

The Sunbird by Elizabeth Wein: Telemakos really comes front and center in this one. I’ve started to consider him a Gen-like character. A few more thoughts {HERE}

A College of Magics by Caroline Stevermer
A Scholar of Magics by Caroline Stevermer: I read these two in one volume. I enjoyed the characters and the story over all, but wasn’t entirely convinced by the world-building, which didn’t quite seem thought-through. The second book was, I think, stronger than the first. I don’t normally say that. A few more thoughts {HERE}.

The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary Pearson: Wow. This is a whammy of a book, and one that’s been justifiably praised. Pearson manages to tell a tricky story without falling into several possible traps. Very well done. A few more thoughts {HERE}.

Black is the Color of my True Love’s Heart by Ellis Peters: When Ellis Peters is good, she’s very good. And that’s exactly what she is here. I was expecting a stereotypical view of those crazy 60’s kids, and instead I got a story that was both beautiful and tragic. A few more thoughts {HERE}.

Dear Enemy by Jean Webster: I’ve loved Daddy-Long-Legs for a long time, but this sequel was a disappointment. Not only did the eugenics-heavy philosophy bother me, the romance didn’t work. A few more thoughts {HERE}.

Black Horses for the King by Anne McCaffrey: An Arthurian re-telling? By Anne McCaffrey? Why, yes! It was a little weird to read it, especially after having read The Winter Prince so recently; she uses several of the same names and locations. Nonetheless, these are entirely different stories. This one ended very abruptly and I wasn’t entirely satisfied. (Is it part of a series? I’m too lazy to look it up on Wikipedia. A new depth to which I have fallen.) But it’s an interesting look into a particular period of history, especially equine history, and I bet I would have enjoyed it a lot when I was younger.

Flora’s Dare by Ysabeau Wilce: Pigface psychopomp! How on earth am I supposed to wait for the third book to be released? Ysabeau Wilce! You are a mean lady! What kind of an ending is that? More coherently, Flora continues her adventures in this book, and discovers some long-buried secrets at the same time (to anyone who’s read it, I hope you see what I did there).

8 Comments

Filed under bookish posts, monthly book list, reviews

8 responses to “January reading list

  1. Pam H.

    I didn’t find the Deep Valley series until I was in my 40s – how I wish I’d discovered it many years earlier!

  2. That is a rather nice little collection of books (says one who is a fan of many of the authors). I’ve never read Winona’s Pony Cart either….

    For your next Patricia MacKillip, in case you are wondering which to read next, i’d suggest Alphabet of Thorn, for a stand alone, or the Riddlemaster Trilogy, if you don’t mind starting a series.

    • Maureen E

      I’m actually going through a McKillip re-read and just finished both of those a month or two ago! Alphabet of Thorn is lovely, as is the Riddlemaster Trilogy in an entirely different way.

      I’ve never liked Winona as much as the other characters, so I guess I don’t feel a huge compulsion to read a whole book about her.

  3. Pingback: Rosemary Sutcliff | By Singing Light

  4. Pingback: Patricia McKillip | By Singing Light

  5. Pingback: Georgette Heyer | By Singing Light

  6. Pingback: Patricia C. Wrede | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

