September reading list

Hattie Big Sky by Kirby Larson: reviewed {HERE} (Short version: very solid but not outstanding.)

Savvy by Ingrid Law: reviewed {HERE} (Short version: lovely and funny story.)

The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart: reviewed {HERE} (Short version: I want to like it more than I do.)

Silver Birch, Blood Moon ed. by Ellen Datlow and Terri Windling: This is the fifth? in a series of books comprised of short stories, all of which are re-tellings of fairy tales for adults. I wasn’t very wild about this one. Most of the stories seemed to go for the shock value more than anything else.

Fire and Hemlock by Diana Wynne Jones: reviewed {HERE} (Short version: probably my favorite version of Tam Lin ever.)

The Convenient Marriage by Georgette Heyer: Horatia is a very sympathetic character in a lot of ways, as is Rule, but for some reason I could not get over the age difference in this one. It was not her best, but a fun read.

Imaginary Lands ed. by Robin McKinley: reviewed {HERE} (Short version: a mixed bag–some great stories, some not as wonderful.)

Unleaving by Jill Paton Walsh: reviewed {HERE} (Short version: fascinating in a lot of ways but not a whole-hearted recommendation.)

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman: I’ve been complaining about the fact that this book has won Every Award Known to Man, so when I was reading it and saying, “Man, I love this book!” my roommate was a little confused. I do really love it though. As I think I said before, I especially liked that Gaiman didn’t feel the need to over-explain everything. It was all very understated, which made it that much more poignant.

Cart and Cwidder by Diana Wynne Jones: reviewed {HERE} (Short version: a great read for fantasy fans, especially DWJ fans.)

Firebirds ed. by Sharyn November: Another short story collection, this one focused on authors with a connection to the Firebird imprint. Several of my favorite authors, including Megan Whalen Turner, had stories in it and overall I thought it was a very solid, well-done collection. I really enjoyed “Beauty” by Sherwood Smith, partly because I was so happy to read more about Mel and Shevraeth and it just changed the ending of Court Duel in lovely ways. Also, “Cotillion” by Delia Sherman, which was yet another Tam Lin story.

What I Saw and How I Lied by Judy Blundell: reviewed {HERE} (Short version: not wild about it, but it was great at evoking a period.)

Graceling by Kristin Cashore: reviewed {HERE} (Short version: a great read! If you like young adult fantasy, definitely check it out.)

Drowned Ammet by Diana Wynne Jones: reviewed {HERE} (Short version: a great read for fantasy fans, especially DWJ fans.)

Lord of the Fading Lands by C.L. Wilson: This book had a lot going for it, in ways I didn’t quite expect, but the romance part didn’t work for me, which kind of ruined it.

Cotillion by Georgette Heyer: reviewed {HERE} (Short version: one of Heyer’s best.)

Unexpected Magic by Diana Wynne Jones: I’d read most of the stories in this collection several times, so I really focused on the last piece, the novella-length “Everard’s Ride” which I really loved.

The Grand Sophy by Georgette Heyer: One of my favorite Georgette Heyer books. Sophy is just a wonderful main character and I happen to have an odd affinity for several of the minor characters.

8 Comments

Filed under bookish posts, monthly book list, reviews

8 responses to “September reading list

  1. As always, you amaze me. I’m thinking I read 9 in September (I counted, I just don’t quite remember the number)

  2. As I generally gravitate toward classics, I’ve always been curious about what’s good out there that has been far more recently published. I’ll look into some of the titles on this list.

    • Maureen E

      I’m an odd mix of classics and recently published young adult fantasy. That is, my reading tends to be. Not actually myself personally.

  3. Pingback: Official read-through index « By Singing Light

  4. Pingback: Georgette Heyer « By Singing Light

  5. Pingback: Diana Wynne Jones | By Singing Light

  6. Pingback: Georgette Heyer | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

