November Reading List

The Amber Spyglass–Philip Pullman: Probably my least favorite out of the three books. I feel that it’s too preachy and unequivocal to be a good story. It also seems to me that Pullman’s language is much flatter and less interesting in this one.

The Farthest Shore–Ursula LeGuin: One of the Earthsea series. It was probably my least favorite out of all of them, although I love Lebbannen. I would still re-read it, and it’s Ursula LeGuin, so it can’t be bad.

Don’t Let Me Be Lonely–Claudia Rankine: For my poetry class. A beautiful set of poems. I think there are a few parts that would be disturbing for some, so tread carefully if you object to violence.

Tehanu–Ursula LeGuin: I like this book overall, although LeGuin becomes very explicitly feminist and there is a little, um, interesting bit at the end. But overall, a very satisfactory finish to the Earthsea series.

The Good Thief–Marie Howe: Another book of poetry. Very beautiful poems, although pretty explicit in places, so I can’t just recommend it.

A Man Lay Dead–Ngaio Marsh: A re-read. I love Inspector Alleyn.

Enter a Murderer: Ditto the above.

A Passage to India–E.M. Forster: For Literary Theory. It was okay. Not great, though.

Brinkley Manor–P.G. Wodehouse: The man is a genius. This is the one with Gussie Fink-Nottle and Aunt Dahlia and Madelyn Bassett. And Jeeves and Wooster, naturally.

Morality for Beautiful Girls–Alexander McCall Smith: The third in the Botswana detective stories. I really like these books for the simplicity of the language and the main characters.

The Kalahari Typing School for Men: Ditto the above, except it’s the fourth book.

The Inheritance of Loss–Kiran Desai: Another Literary Theory book. Not my favorite. Enough said.

Death of a Peer–Ngaio Marsh: This could well be one of my absolute favorite Ngaio Marsh books. I love the Lampreys and I love Roberta Grey, and I love Inspector Alleyn.

The King of Attolia–Megan Whalen Turner: Have I mentioned how much I love this series? Because I just discovered it this summer and I can’t stop reading it. It’s amazing! Loves Gen and Attolia and Eddis and Sophos and….

A Clockwork Orange–Anthony Burgess: One of the most interesting books I’ve read in a long time. It’s written in a made-up street slang which derives from Russian. Since I’m taking Russian I had fun deciphering the meanings. But it would be really confusing if I didn’t speak Russian! It’s very dark and violent, so be warned, but it’s definitely a good read if you can handle it.

2 Comments

Filed under bookish posts, monthly book list

2 responses to “November Reading List

  1. How odd–this just showed up in goole reader, but it seems to be from 2007!!! Did you go on to read the other Earthsea books–Tales from Earthsea and The Other Wind (which is where it really ends)?

    • Maureen E

      I’ve been doing some re-organizing, which involves editing entries. Apparently when I hit update they show up on Google Reader? I did finish the series, which is still one of my favorites, especially Tales from Earthsea.

Leave a Reply

