Favorite Authors: Franny Billingsley

Franny Billingsley is one of those authors who may not be a bestseller, but who has really committed fans. I’m happy to be one of them. I love her characters, prickly girls struggling to grow up in a world they don’t quite understand and aren’t fully comfortable with. I love her settings, which draw on historical eras but so subtly that you’d be hard pressed to say which ones, exactly. I love her language, which is always pitch perfect and eerily beautiful. And none of that quite captures the resonant magic of her books. She hasn’t written very many so far, but I know that however many she writes, I will be more than happy to read.

Favorite books by Franny Billingsley
1. Chime
2. The Folk Keeper
3. Big Bad Bunny
4. Well Wished

All of my Franny Billingsley reviews
The Folk Keeper (2011)
Chime (2011)

2 Comments

Filed under bookish posts

2 responses to “Favorite Authors: Franny Billingsley

  1. I own a copy of Well Wished but haven’t read it yet. I need to do that. I really enjoyed The Folk Keeper, but I LOVE Chime. One of my all time favorites.

    • Maureen E

      I love Chime too! It’s definitely one of those polarizing books, though–either you love it or you hate it!

Leave a Reply

