Favorite Authors: Caroline Stevermer

I suspect that many people these days know Caroline Stevermer primarily from the Kate and Cecy books which she co-wrote with Patricia Wrede. And those books are wonderfully delightful, and I adore them, but I also think it’s a pity that Stevermer’s other books get overlooked. Putting aside Sorcery and Cecelia, the College of Magics/Scholar of Magics duology are probably my favorites, for their lovely mix of magic and college stories. Stevermer’s writing is quiet and haunting and beautiful.

Favorite books by Caroline Stevermer
1. Sorcery and Cecelia
2. A College of Magics
3. A Scholar of Magics
4. When the King Comes Home

All of my Caroline Stevermer reviews
A College of Magics and A Scholar of Magics (2010); A College of Magics, briefly (2011); A Scholar of Magics, briefly (2011)
Magic Below Stairs (2010)
When the King Comes Home, briefly (2011)
Sorcery and Cecelia (2008) and again, briefly (2009)
The Grand Tour, briefly (2008)
The Mislaid Magician, briefly (2008)

6 Comments

Filed under bookish posts

6 responses to “Favorite Authors: Caroline Stevermer

  1. You got me there – I have only read the Sorcery and Cecelia books, and I really ought to read her other ones.

    • Maureen Eichner

      Well, I highly doubt you’re the only one! I really enjoyed the College of Magics/Scholar of Magics duology.

  2. Her books have a very dream-like quality to them – at least, the College of Magics ones (MOST especially When The King Comes Home), which is unique and lovely, for me at any rate. I also love that her female characters are not typical “kick-a$$ heroines,” but are nuanced and thoughtful, and strong in a completely believable and relatable way. I enjoy Wrede’s Cecy, but I love Kate.

    • Maureen Eichner

      *quietly steals your description and inserts it above*

      I enjoy Wrede’s Cecy, but I love Kate.
      Same here! Which was surprising to me because I love Wrede’s books, but Kate is definitely my favorite of the two.

      • I think I would have loved Cecy best as a teenager – her impulsiveness, her energy, her spunk, but as an adult, it’s Kate’s clumsiness, her passion, her quiet determination, and her courage for others when she can’t manage it for herself that just slay me.

        Unsurprisingly enough, I prefer Anne Elliot over Elizabeth Bennet when it comes to Austen heroines, too. I really, really love quiet strength over feisty wit (although I enjoy feisty wit as well, don’t get me wrong!) – and that is a definite reversal of my teenage years.

        • Maureen Eichner

          I love Elizabeth, but I identify with Anne, and I think there’s a similar dynamic with Kate & Cecy. I do love a heroine like Cimorene, for example, but I’ve also always loved heroines like Kate, or Anne, or Sophie Hatter.

Leave a Reply

