Made and Making: July 2014

Knitting
I’ve been working on my Pretty (me) sweater, but I’ve gotten a bit bogged down in the sleeves. I need to push past that, because I really want to finish this one and start on my Rose Under Fire sweater.

Cooking
Lemon Madeira Cake from Complete Traditional Recipe Book: Light, sweet, with a nice crust and slightly tangy flavor. Great everyday cake!

Marbled Eggs from Home Made Summer: This were a bit disappointing–I may not have made the tea strong enough, but they were hardly marbled at all.

Peach and Sour Cream Pancakes from Smitten Kitchen Cookbook: So good. I love the sour cream batter, and this would be great with all kinds of fruit.

Tomato, Mozzarella and Salami Pasta Salad: This makes a huge batch which is great for no-worry lunches. Also great for hot days when turning on the stove sounds awful.

Blueberry Yogurt Pancakes: Really good! Halved the recipe, though, which gave me four pancakes. Maybe I made them larger than the original? Regardless, these are awesome with a dollop of yogurt and a drizzle of honey.

Peach Frozen Yogurt: This was good, but not nearly as exciting as I was expecting.

Homemade Ricotta from Working Class Foodies: Made my own ricotta for the first time! I learned a couple of lessons, but it’s simple enough that I definitely intend to make my own from now on, rather than buying it. Looking forward to making these tomorrow.

3 Comments

Filed under cooking adventures, crafts

3 responses to “Made and Making: July 2014

  1. Hi, Maureen, what recipe did you use for the tea eggs? This recipe always seems to work well for me:

    6 eggs
    1 Tbsp salt
    2 Tbsp soy sauce
    1 whole star anise — I don’t like anise, but I like this much in this recipe
    2 tea bags black tea

    Simmer eggs in water 20 minutes, tap gently all over to create a network of cracks, then simmer in 2 c water plus remaining ingredients for 2-3 hours. Add water if necessary to keep eggs covered. Cool to room temp and peel.

    Let me know if this works better for you if you try it!

Leave a Reply

