Top Ten Tuesday: Covers I’d like to frame

top-ten-tuesday
This is a post for Top Ten Tuesday, hosted at The Broke and the Bookish. You can find out more and follow along there!

unspokenverity ukAgency3wheel of the infiniteweather witchSorrows-Knotmistwalkerreplacementbards of bone plainqueen victorias

(Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan; Code Name Verity (UK) by Elizabeth Wein; The Agency: Traitor in the Tunnel by Y.S. Lee; Wheel of the Infinite by Martha Wells; Weather Witch by Shannon Delaney; Sorrow’s Knot by Erin Bow; Mistwalker by Saundra Mitchell; The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff; The Bards of Bone Plain by Patricia McKillip; Queen Victoria’s Book of Spells ed. by Ellen Datlow and Terri Windling)

17 Comments

Filed under bookish posts

17 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Covers I’d like to frame

  1. I love that Unspoken cover. I’m so sad they didn’t do the rest of them in that style.

  2. The cover for The Bards of Bone Plain reminds me of two covers I have on my list, both books by Juliet Marillier. It must be the same artist.
    My TTT

    • Maureen Eichner

      Yes, it is! A wonderful artist named Kinuko Craft. She’s done a ton of covers for Patricia McKillip and some other fantasy books.

  3. The cover for The Replacement is one of the creepiest and best covers EVER.

    • Maureen Eichner

      It really is! The book is pretty great too, if you haven’t read it (though I know you have plenty on the TBR :)).

  4. Oh yes, I love the cover of The Replacement too :)

  5. I still haven’t read Bards of Bone Plain! How does it rank for P. A. M.? :)

    • Maureen Eichner

      Way above Solstice Wood, but not quite to the level of Ombria or Atrix Wolfe. In other words, very good and probably worth reading but not at the top of my list.

      • omg, I had almost forgotten about Solstice Wood. What an unpleasantly forced-feeling sequel that was.

        The last I’d read was Alphabet of Thorn. Sounds like Bone Plain could be a pleasantly nostalgic summer read! And as always, what a sublime intersection McKillip & Kinuko Craft make together.

        • Maureen Eichner

          Totally destroyed the magic of Winter Rose for me; I’ve never been able to re-read either.

          Yes, I do like Bell at Sealey Head but in a much milder way. Bone Plain has this interesting turn of the century-esque setting going on, and that almost tangible sense of setting that McKillip can do so well.

          I really can’t think of another author/cover artist combination that works quite as well as Craft/McKillip; literally boggle at the idea of McKillip’s books without those covers.

  6. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: (Cover Lovers) May 6, 2014 | A MaeDay Life

  7. Great choices! I love the cover of the Replacement.
    I have just read Code Name Verity – it was so good. My favourite read of the year so far!

  8. These are stunning covers! I think my favorites are The Agency and Unspoken

  9. I’ve just identified Kinuko Craft as an artist to follow, though I’ve read both “Bards of Bone Plain” and “Wildwood Dancing” and loved her work on them. And as usual, your list is giving me at least three more books I’d like to read.

    • Maureen Eichner

      McKillip sadly isn’t as active a writer as she once was, but I’ve seen Craft’s covers on several other authors, including Freda Warrington. (I tried her first Elfland book and was not a fan, but ymmv.) Her site is pretty up to date: http://www.kycraft.com/

Leave a Reply

