May releases I’m excited about

greatgreenetime to danceCastleBehindThorns-hc-c

Cabinet of Curiosities: 36 Tales Brief and Sinister
The Wizard’s Promise by Cassandra Rose Clarke
The Oversight by Charlie Fletcher
Castle Behind Thorns by Merrie Haskell
The Falconer by Elizabeth May
Feather-Bound by Sarah Raughley
The Great Greene Heist by Varian Johnson
A Time to Dance by Padma Venkatraman

I thought more deliberately about diverse releases this month, and am happy to say that I did find a few. And I’ll also note that while I haven’t read Castle Behind Thorns yet, Merrie Haskell did win the Schneider Award last year for her portrayal of disability in Handbook for Dragon Slayers, a choice that made me very happy.

2 Comments

Filed under bookish posts

2 responses to “May releases I’m excited about

  1. I read “Castle Behind Thorns” in prepub and loved it, though I don’t know that it does much for the diversity cause. I need to pay more explicit attention to reading the diverse books, too, and not just making sure the library has them.

    • Maureen Eichner

      Ah, well. Not every book is going to, realistically, and I think Haskell has a pretty good record overall.

      That’s what I’m coming to as well–I would like to think that I’ll just manage to find good diverse books, but it doesn’t happen that way; I need to be much more deliberate about looking for, reading, and reviewing them.

Leave a Reply

