Where I am

Reading-wise, mostly, though life stuff has an effect on that.

Just finished Caroline Stevermer’s Serpent’s Egg last night. It’s her debut, which I hadn’t read before, and it’s one of those books I find hard to review because I can’t quite figure out what it is I like about it. The characters, for sure–the plot is a bit meandering–but why do I like these particular characters? They are all trying to do the right thing, maybe? That’s often very appealing for me. Plus, there’s political intrigue, which I like in fantasy and historical fiction and that’s about it. At the same time, it’s certainly a debut, lacking some of the assurance of Stevermer’s later books. And there are too many characters, or rather, the book is not long enough to make us care about all the characters (it’s a slight little thing). I am not sure what to do with Chrysafer. That being said, I did certainly enjoy it, and the Elizabeth-inspired setting was lovely.

And now I’m planning on reading Leah Cypress’s Death Sworn. I loved her first two books, so I’m hoping this one lives up to expectations.

I have too many books checked out and I want to read them all, which makes me want to read none and then I get a little stressed out. Hashtag: bookworm problems.

Plus, at the moment my room is a disaster, for a specific reason, which is that I’ll be moving into my own apartment in mid-May and am consequently sorting through all my stuff and trying to acquire more. (The basics like, you know, a table and maybe a chair or two.) So blogging may be taking a backseat for a month or two, while all that is going on. Hopefully not too much, or for too long, but we’ll see.

7 Comments

Filed under blogkeeping, bookish posts, life

7 responses to “Where I am

  1. it is a change… when one has their own place, lots of things need to be tended to but it is good to make one’s home, to decorate it well (my priest calls one’s home one’s domestic church and it is to be treated well), learn new habits and routines… it is a blessing and a wonderful responsibility! I hope it goes very well! Christ is Risen! We are moving in Bright Week too and are already planning things… I hope all comes easily into place for you… Have a wonderful bright week my dear friend!!!

    • Maureen Eichner

      Yes, it is both exciting and overwhelming, although less so now that Lent is over! I hope your moving goes smoothly and easily. Christ is Risen!

  2. Oh, exciting! Good luck with the move!

    I remember acquiring The Table. It came from a second-hand store in Ohio and cost $12, a retired restaurant table with oaken legs and a black rubber top. Indestructible. Still got it.

    Your biggest problem will probably be bookshelves, though. My brother came up with a twist on the cinder-blocks-and-boards approach that I like: He gift-wrapped the cinder blocks. Looked much nicer.

    • Maureen Eichner

      I have one bookshelf which I plan to stuff with the Necessary Books until I manage to buy/make/steal some more. The gift wrapping cinder blocks idea is quite a good one!

      Tables are complicated because I’m so short–I need something I can sit at and chop on comfortably. Of course, I suppose one can always shorten the legs but that sounds more involved than I really want.

  3. I still have my First Sofa–it made me feel so grown up! I hope the moving/nesting goes well, and that you enjoy Death Sworn!

  4. Pingback: April 2014 reading list | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

