Made and Making: January 2014

I’ve been working on a number of projects over the past few months that I couldn’t share at the time for fear of ruining someone’s surprise. So, not everything featured was actually made in January.

Knitting
100_3844

I started my first Baby Surprise Jacket, and my first Elizabeth Zimmerman pattern all in one go. The directions required a few leaps of faith, but in the end it’s pretty magical to go from this to…

100_3845
…this! I need to sew this one together and add some buttons. Then I think it’ll wait for next winter to see whose child is the right age. :)100_3848
I’m working on a bag for myself. This is all done except for the felting, which for some reason is really intimidating me. (Maybe it’s because the directions say to use a pair of old jeans and I don’t have any?) I’m happy with how the knitting turned out, except that all the edges are rolling. Hope that works itself out in blocking.100_3850
Here’s a close up of the design. (It’s this lovely pattern.)100_3852
First present! This was a cowl I knit for my sister. I loved the yarn I used–a cotton/silk blend–and I was really happy with how this one turned out. (Ravelry here)100_3854
Here is a hat I knit for my brother. This picture is pre-blocking–post-blocking it had a much more normal hat-look, and actually fits an 18-year-old boy head. This is sock yarn–very cool, and a nice guy-hat. K3P3 ribbing is a bit tedious to knit up, though. (Ravelry here)

I also knit a hat for my mom, which turned out beautifully…and I forgot to take a picture of it. Argh! Here’s the Ravelry link. Maybe I can bribe her into taking a picture for me.

Salt dough ornaments
One of the Christmas presents I made this year was a set of salt dough ornaments that I distributed to different people. I used some fine tip markers that had been my dad’s to draw the designs, and I thought they turned out really well!

100_3818This one was Swedish-inspired. Some of the Swedish embroidery has fascinating shading, which I tried to echo a bit.

100_3842
I saw some lovely folk-art bird motifs on Pinterest some time ago and copied one of them for this cheerful ornament.

100_3820This one was sort of psanky-motif-ish, except that then I kept going and adding more elements.

100_3827This one was based on an Indian rangoli motif (sand painting that’s done around Diwali).

100_3829This was one of my favorites! The friend it was for is a big Lord of the Rings fan (that’s actually how we met), and her username is Arwen. So I adapted Luthien’s heraldry slightly and then wrote a quote from when Arwen arrives at Minas Tirith around the outside.

100_3830Close-up of the quote and design

100_3833This one was for a coworker who really likes purple. I don’t remember if I had a specific inspiration, or if I was just doodling.

100_3836I have two coworkers who are fellow Doctor Who fans. So for one, I did part of the Gallifreyan word for the Doctor’s name (or something…I don’t know, I Googled it!). The circles were kind of frightening to do, especially since the surface of this ornament was not 100% smooth. But it turned out well.

100_3837And for the other coworker, a TARDIS!

100_3839

And, finally, another psanky-inspired ornament. This was lots of fun to do!

Cooking
I’m not going to link to all the recipes I made the last few months. But here are a few I particularly enjoyed:

- Stewed lentils and tomatoes from Smitten Kitchen. Satisfying and delicious.
- Lemon Cake with Black Tea Frosting from Honey & Jam. I opted for a citrus cream cheese frosting instead, and did this as a one-layer 9×13 cake for a combined birthday party. Wonderfully moist and yummy!

6 Comments

Filed under cooking adventures, crafts

6 responses to “Made and Making: January 2014

  1. The ornaments are amazing! I tried to do salt-dough ornaments one year. They, um, didn’t come out quite so well as yours did.

  2. wow… you are very creative! way beyond me! :) good job! these knit items and ornaments are very lovely!!! :)

    • Maureen Eichner

      Thank you, Elizabeth! My mom taught me to knit when I was a little girl, so I’ve had quite a bit of practice. :)

  3. I am impressed with your knitting skills. I knit dish cloths while I’m watching TV. I can do patterns a little but that is the extent of my knitting skills.

  4. So very cool! I’ve been wanting to try a Baby Surprise Jacket for years now… but I have so little time to knit that I’m always afraid the baby would outgrow it before I finished it. It’s cool to see the before and after picture, though! And I’m impressed with your stamina for knitting a hat out of sock yarn.

Leave a Reply

