Links from around the web 1-4-2014

I found this post about being a Jeiwsh fan of Nancy Drew to be a really great examination of what it means to love something that is is also racist/anti-Semitic/etc. (via someone on Twitter–Karyn Silverman, maybe?)

Here’s an amazing set of Swedish illustrations for The Hobbit (via Emera)

There are many examples of cool book art floating around these days, but this one is downright amazing. (also via Emera)

Kate DiCamillo has been announced as the new National Ambassador of Young Peoples’ Literature. Yay!

Interesting post on the distinction between gritty & grimdark (Book Smugglers):

Gritty fantasy is much less interesting, though, when all we get in its place is an equally unreflective slab of grim darkness. It’s far, far better to produce a powerful and moving slice of grit, like The Wire than a cheap, gratuitous and nauseating one, like The Cook, the Thief, his Wife and her Lover. That’s the bottom line for me: if grit is one tool in the writer’s arsenal, then I want to feel as if the writer is choosing the right tool for the job at hand, and knows how to use it as well.

(Although I tried The Wire and haaated it.)

The Cybils finalists have been announced! Including the list for my category, YA Fiction. I’m really proud of the list we have, and really grateful to everyone else on the round 1 team. It was a great experience.

My friend Marie did a really cool thing last year–I loved her post about her project.

I haven’t seen Saving Mr. Banks, but I appreciated this critique of its portrayal of P.L. Travers. (via Melissa Wiley)

3 Comments

Filed under links

3 responses to “Links from around the web 1-4-2014

  1. Alina

    I’m pretty sure the Swedish illustrations of the Hobbit that you linked to are by Tove Jansson. Have you read any of her books? (Moomintroll!)

    • Alina

      D’oh, just looked at the link again and it says Tove Jansson right underneath the pictures. My observational skills are not up to par this evening, please excuse.

      • Maureen Eichner

        Don’t worry about it! I didn’t recognize the name myself, so I didn’t realize that other people might know it. I’ll have to do some Googling.

Leave a Reply

