Blogger appreciation: reading edition

I don’t keep a proper blog roll, but I know it warms my heart whenever someone mentions BSL elsewhere. So I’m going to do a series of some of my favorite blogs in different categories. Today–book blogs!

Leila @ Bookshelves of Doom: Bookshelves of Doom was one of the very first blogs I ever read and, well, I’m still reading. Leila’s mix of smart and funny is great, and since we have fairly similar tastes in books, I get a lot of good recommendations from her.

Chachic @ Chachic’s Book Nook: Chachic is a fellow Sounisian and one of my favorite bloggers. She’s great at being warm and welcoming and since we love many of the same books, I’m always excited to find new recommendations from her.

Brandy @ Random Musings of a Bibliophile: Another Sounisian (I love Sounis!). Brandy is great at discussing books that I might not have heard about otherwise, and pulling out aspects of books that might not have thought about before.

Ana and Thea @ The Book Smugglers: The Book Smugglers are so smart that, even when I completely disagree with them, I can see why they reacted the way they did. Moreover, although some of their reviews are negative, I don’t feel like they’re gratuitously negative, or confuse the book with the author. If you want smart, critical reviews, look no further.

Queen Ninja Revenge is a new blog, but one of my good friends posts there and I know that she’s brilliant. So far they have a nice mix of genres and styles, so I’m looking forward to more from them.

Liz B @ A Chair, A Fireplace, and a Tea cozy: Liz has a great mix of middle-grade and YA books, in addition to some great discussions of current issues in the kidlit world. I always learn something from her.

Charlotte @ Charlotte’s Library: Another Sounisian, and another blogger I’ve read for a looong time now. Charlotte has an emphasis on middle-grade sff, though she regularly reads other types of books. While I tend to be a bit more on the adult side, I really appreciate her blog and like the way it helps me be aware of what’s going on in that field.

The Black Letters: I really wish they updated more regularly, because I am a big fan of Emera & Kakaner’s blog. (Guilt, guilt, guilt. :)) They have a speculative fiction focus, but post all kinds of things, with interesting features and smart reviews.

5 Comments

Filed under bookish posts, links

5 responses to “Blogger appreciation: reading edition

  1. Wow, what lovely company to be in! Thanks so much, and of course I enjoy your blog lots too! All but two are already read by me, so I shall now go off to visit those two….

  2. Thank you so much for including me in this list! Fellow Sounisians unite. :D Like Charlotte, I’m already following most of the blogs that you mentioned except for two of them so I should probably check them out.

  3. Thank you, Maureen! :-) I, too, am super flattered to be in such fabulous company! (As are The Feathery Revenge and Quiet Like a Ninja.)

  4. Pingback: Blogger appreciation: authors | By Singing Light

  5. Pingback: Blogger appreciation: Inspirational edition | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

