Catching up

I read a lot of good books during September and some of them slipped through the cracks. Rather than try to cram them into my monthly book list post, I thought I’d pull them out and talk about them here.

Such a Rush by Jennifer Echols: Oh my goodness, people, this is such a good book! Leah is a fantastic main character, so strong in so many ways but at the same time entirely sympathetic. Also, flying, two best friends, and a seriously hot romance. One I will re-read and re-read.

Just Send Me Word by Orlando Figues: Non-fiction! Years of letters between Lev, a political prisoner in the Gulag, and Sveta, his girlfriend. It’s an amazing story and a glimpse into a world most of us can’t even imagine. Figues does a great job of weaving the letters together and providing them with context while letting Lev & Sveta’s words stand on their own.

The Girl with Borrowed Wings by Rinsai Rossetti: I wasn’t sure how to categorize this one. It almost seems like magical realism rather than fantasy–that is, fantastic things happen, but the book is profoundly uninterested in why or how. I found the story compelling and the writing beautiful.

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater: Well, everyone loves this one, right? I can’t wait to read more about Blue and her Raven Boys. Plus, Welsh history! I am a sucker for it. Also, IMO, the romance is wide open and I like that. For me, however, I never had the complete falling in love from first to last feeling that I did with Scorpio Races. Which is partly because I count on Maggie Stiefvater to write excellent books and she continues to do so–I’m not surprised when she writes well. Regardless, so excited for the next book!

Amberlight by Sylvia Kelso: Adult fantasy–I loved the characters and the story, which teetered just on the edge of cliche but never tipped over. Also had a great sense of setting and place, which is one of my Things. Kelso’s style is very…style-y, which bothered me at first. After a bit, I managed to settle in, but others might be a bit off-put. Do give it a chance, though.

Graffiti Moon by Cath Crowley: Okay, actually I’ve already read this one, but I was in a bad mood or something and didn’t appreciate it. Karyn’s post at Someday My Printz Will Come convinced me to give it another try. I’m really glad I did, because this time I thought it was a completely sweet and charming book. I’m not sure if it’s a Printz book necessarily–it seems a little light compared to some of the others–but I’d be very happy to see it get an Honor.

Have any of you read any of these? Especially some of the more obscure ones? We’re getting into award season, with the Cybils in nominations and discussion at the Printz blog heating up, so I’d love to hear what you all think about these books (the ones that are eligible).

6 Comments

Filed under bookish posts, reviews

6 responses to “Catching up

  1. Pingback: September 2012 book list | By Singing Light

  2. Pingback: 2012 in books, part 2: fiction again | By Singing Light

  3. Pingback: 2012 in books, part 3: non-fiction | By Singing Light

  4. Pingback: November 2012-January 2013 reading list | By Singing Light

  5. Pingback: The Dream Thieves (Raven Boys #2)–Maggie Stiefvater | By Singing Light

  6. Pingback: February 2014 reading list | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

