Armchair BEA: Best of 2012

Well, I kind of talked about this yesterday in my introduction post, so I’m going to talk a bit more about the books I mentioned and also about the ones I’m looking forward to in the rest of the year.

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein: I’ve said everything I possibly could here. It’s a wonderful, intense book and will definitely be making my end-of-the-year favorites list.

The Springsweet by Saundra Mitchell: The second in Mitchell’s trilogy, The Springsweet is a marvelous combination of historical fiction and fantasy. Plus, it has a wonderful narrator and a swoony romance. What’s not to love?

Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan: I was lucky enough to read a copy through NetGalley. I haven’t written up my formal review yet, but I loved Sarah Rees Brennan’s first trilogy and this one looks like it will be just as amazing. Plus, YA Gothic? Sassy girl reporters? Mysterious strangers? YES, PLEASE.

Wheel of the Infinite by Martha Wells: I just read this one and I fell in love with it. A smart, multicultural fantasy, with strong characters and a tightly-woven mystery plot. It’s like someone ran down the list of things I love.

Upcoming books
The Alchemist of Souls by Anne Lyle: I’m a sucker for Elizabethan based fantasies, especially when well done. The cover is a bit awful, but the summary sounds pretty awesome.

Dust Girl by Sarah Zettel: I’m also a sucker for Midwestern-based fantasies. In this case, the summary is a little dubious, but I think the actual book could be really good.

For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfreund: Being a Jane Austen fan, I’m about equal parts excited and terrified for this sci-fi version of Persuasion. But I’m hoping that the excited part will win out.

Keeping the Castle by Patrice Kindl: I’ve read several books by Kindl and really liked them. So this Austenesque title has my hopes high! It also sounds a bit like I Capture the Castle, another favorite book.

The Killing Moon by N.K. Jemisin: I had somewhat mixed feelings about Jemisin’s first trilogy, but Jemisin’s worldbuilding is superb and the setting and plot of The Killing Moon is intriguing.

Shadows on the Moon by Zoe Marriott: I definitely like Marriott’s books–again, smart, multicultural fantasy–so I’m looking forward to this Cinderella retelling.

Team Human by Justine Larbalestier and Sarah Rees Brennan: I was planning to read this one, but I was excited about it without being SUPER excited. AND THEN I saw this fanart and now I can’t wait. Less than a month! So excited!

So that’s it from me–the ones I’ve loved so far and the ones I can’t wait to read. How about you?

2 Comments

Filed under bookish posts, reviews

2 responses to “Armchair BEA: Best of 2012

  1. I haven’t read or heard of any of these books – we live in different parts of the book blogging universe, I think! :-)

    I also love Netgalley for getting new books. So hard not to press that Request button – but sometimes I have to restrain myself or I’ll have even more to read (the pile is large enough!).

    • Maureen E

      It’s always so funny to realize that there are whole subcontinents of book bloggers out there that you have no contact with! It’s happened to me a few times and I’m always boggled.

      I like NetGalley, but I’m still wedded to physical books, so I only use it for the ones I really really want (like Unspoken).

Leave a Reply

