Captain America

So I watched Captain America last night, and I also had Thoughts! I wasn’t sure how I would like it, because it’s a WWII superhero movie and I watched Foyle’s War until the season after the war* and Blackout/All Clear, and Code Name Verity. So let’s just say I was going to have trouble letting mistakes go.

I did enjoy it a lot, despite the laughability of bits and pieces. Also the entire premise. (“Forget Hitler, he’s not a problem. These Hydra people, though! Man.”) I liked the way the secondary characters were pretty developed in their own right. It felt like an ensemble piece, though obvious Steve Rogers/Captain America remained pretty firmly at the foreground.

Also, Peggy! I really liked Peggy. She was a love interest in a superhero movie who didn’t have super powers, but who also didn’t sit around and look pretty. I love the bit early in the movie where a villainous Richard Armitage (who I totally spotted!) is driving away and she has a shot before Steve pushes her out of the way. I like the fact that she’s able to be proactive, but isn’t reduced to being just one of the guys.

Although, when she walked into the pub in that red dress, I immediately thought, “THAT doesn’t have six seams!” (Just having read about this on Elizabeth Wein’s new website.) However, I then decided that she got it in America, where rationing wasn’t as severe (correct me if I’m wrong there).

Also, when Steve is sitting forlornly in the same pub, now bombed-out, and she finds him, I was worried that they were going to be arrested for looting.

By the way, I kept wondering if this was a British production. I am too lazy to look it up, but it had quite a few British actors, in both UK and US roles. Richard Armitage, JJ Feild, Dominic Cooper, Natalie Dormer, etc. Also, Toby Jones, who I mostly know from the dream episode of Doctor Who!**

Anyway, I did enjoy it quite a bit, although the end kind of made my head hurt. The last line, particularly. Will there be a sequel? Do we want a sequel? I don’t know!

The bottom line is, if you can manage to ignore the complete implausibility of the whole thing, it’s a fun movie with some nice characters.

* I will admit it, I lost interest when Andrew left. And also wasn’t a fan of the way they dealt with his disappearance by NOT ADDRESSING IT.

** At the very beginning, when the two soldiers started investigating the inside of this mysterious object, I definitely thought, “Wow, that looks almost like the inside of the TARDIS!”

Here’s a Q&A with the costume designer, which I enjoyed.

3 Comments

Filed under movies, reviews

3 responses to “Captain America

  1. ewein2412

    Her HAIR is not regulation 2 inches above her collar, either! There was some awkward plane thing that made me laugh but I can’t remember what it was. What I *do* remember is how much I *loved* the Hydra stealth jet. OMG. So clearly the shininess outweighs the little errors.

    I actually thought the closing credits were the best part. And I dont mean that in a bad way.

    • Maureen E

      Like the fact that Captain America jumps into one of the Hydra planes and is instantly able to fly it with no problems? I admit, I laughed a bit there.

      So clearly the shininess outweighs the little errors.
      That’s pretty much how I felt as well–it was unserious enough that I managed not to take it too seriously and just have fun.

      The closing credits were pretty awesome.

  2. rhymeswithcarrot

    re: sequel, Captain America is part of the lead up to Avengers (Joss Whedon! May 4! EXCITEMENT!). Iron Man, Hulk, and Thor are the other superheroes whose movies lead up to Avengers. As a superhero movie fan/Whedonist, I am really looking forward to this.

Leave a Reply

