A few short reviews

Voices of Dragons by Carrie Vaughn: Interesting concept and a nice weaving together of backstory and current events. The narrator (Kay) actually has friends and does things with them. On the other hand, I never found myself completely invested in the story or the characters.

The Summer of the Great-Grandmother by Madeleine L’Engle: L’Engle’s account of her mother’s last summer, which she spent at their home in Crosswicks. Also includes a lot of family history, which I enjoyed. It’s one of those books that didn’t have a lot of applicability for me at the moment, but which I could see returning to later.

The Silver Bowl by Diane Stanley: Fantastic everyday details, which are always nice, especially in fantasy. I liked the resolution of the plot and especially the way the relationships ended. However, I was confused by the setting which didn’t seem to quite know if it was a fairy tale world or ours. I think for the target audience (middle grade) it would be a lovely book; for me it wasn’t quite satisfying. But doesn’t it have a nice cover?

Book source: public library for all three

6 Comments

Filed under bookish posts, reviews

6 responses to “A few short reviews

  1. I loved this book by L’Engle! :)

    • Maureen E

      I think it’s one that I’ll probably return to and love. I did really enjoy all the family history parts!

  2. The Silver Bowl has been on my list since I first heard about it–I do so like everyday details!

    • Maureen E

      Yes, so do I! I think my main problem was thinking that it was a fairy tale medieval-ish world, and then getting to details about priests and Mass and being totally thrown off because the countries aren’t countries from our world, and yet apparently they’re Christian?

  3. Pingback: November 2012-January 2013 reading list | By Singing Light

  4. Pingback: Madeleine L’Engle | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

