July book list

The Dancing Bear by Peter Dickinson: Historical fiction by Dickinson, who I’ve always felt I should read more of. This book, set in the Byzantine era, tells the story of a noble girl, a slave, a dancing bear, and a holy man. Overall I was impressed by the story and the treatment of the time period, although there were a few implicit attitudes which grated on my nerves.

The Ordinary Princess by M.M. Kaye: I was looking for something short and sweet, but not necessarily fluffy, to read. This fit the bill. And then I talked about it during “Books I love” week.

The Blue Sword by Robin McKinley: 14 year old me and 22 year old me might have a number of important differences, but we agree on at least one thing: this book is awesome.

The Winter Prince by Elizabeth Wein: I try to avoid re-reading this book too much. It’s so rich and dense, like dark chocolate, that a bit sprinkled here and there is more satisfying than a huge chunk every day. (I reviewed it fully here.)

Arabella by Georgette Heyer: I actually bought this one! It was part of a recent Amazon purchase. Lots of fun, of course, but I really love Arabella. For one thing, although she certainly loves pretty things, she also has a strong moral sense and a great deal of compassion. (I reviewed it fully here.)

World’s 100 Best Short Stories: Detective: I re-read this every so often, although I don’t actually find most of the stories that engaging.

Rainbow’s End by Ellis Peters: Not my favorite Peters, but the last in the Felse series, I believe. And that’s about all I can remember on this one!

Flora Segunda by Ysabeau Wilce: Having bought my own copy, I sat down to re-read this. So much fun! I love Flora and Udo. And Poppy makes me cry. A great mixture of a rollicking adventure and a bittersweet coming of age story.

Liar by Justine Larbalestier: Hey, I can now spell her name without checking it! This book danced tantalizingly close to being amazing, but never quite got there for me. (I reviewed it fully here.)

The London Eye Mystery by Siobhan Dowd: A great mystery for younger readers, which includes a wide cast of characters without ever feeling Issue-y. (I reviewed it fully here.)

Clockwork Heart by Dru Pagliossotti: A pleasant surprise–I wasn’t sure how much I would like this one, and I really did. The worldbuilding is fantastic.

Rebel (aka Wayfarer) by R.J. Anderson: When I was in London, I bought the UK edition of Knife, Anderson’s first book. So naturally, I had to buy the UK version of the sequel so that they matched. I was a bit confused at first, because I somehow had it in my head that Rebel was a prequel. It’s not. It’s a sequel. Once I straightened that out, I enjoyed the story and the continuing twists and turns of this world. I’m looking forward to the third book!

Death in a White Tie by Ngaio Marsh: A saddish sort of mystery, with a happy ending. It’s roughly equivalent to Gaudy Night, but much different in length and tone.

Changing Planes by Ursula LeGuin: I read this a few years ago and remembered really liking it. This time around I was intrigued by the concept, but annoyed by the faintly didactic and political messages that LeGuin saw fit to include in almost every story.

7 Comments

Filed under bookish posts, monthly book list, reviews

7 responses to “July book list

  1. Mimi

    Ooooh, the” Dancing Bear” sounds good. Thanks.
    I just read “Byzantium” by Peter Lawhead which was good.

  2. Pingback: Ellis Peters | By Singing Light

  3. Pingback: Elizabeth Wein | By Singing Light

  4. Pingback: Georgette Heyer | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

